Archive for November, 2018

Daily Bulletin: District elections, voters shake up Chino, Pomona, Upland

By David Allen | dallen@scng.com | Inland Valley Daily Bulletin
Published: November 11, 2018 at 10:00 am | Updated: November 11, 2018 at 10:01 am

The blue wave, teal ripple, purple eddy or whatever combination color/water feature we saw at the national level promises divided government, which is often the best kind.

Read the rest of this entry »

InlandPolitics: Celebrating Veterans Day 2018

Sunday, November 11, 2018 – 08:00 a.m.

Thank you to all of the men and women, who honorably served, and have served, to defend and protect our great country.

R. Carey Davis, left, and John Valdivia are running for San Bernardino mayor.

By Brian Whitehead | bwhitehead@scng.com | San Bernardino Sun
Published: November 9, 2018 at 4:53 pm | Updated: November 9, 2018 at 4:54 pm

San Bernardino Councilman John Valdivia still leads incumbent Mayor Carey Davis in the race for the city’s top elected position, unofficial Election Day results updated Friday, Nov. 9, show.

Read the rest of this entry »

By Joe Nelson | jnelson@scng.com and Scott Schwebke | sschwebke@scng.com | San Bernardino Sun
Published: November 9, 2018 at 12:25 pm | Updated: November 9, 2018 at 7:17 pm

Redlands police have arrested a former high school drama teacher on suspicion of having sex with two underage students and possession of child pornography, making him the third former teacher in the school district to be charged with sexual abuse in the past five years.

Read the rest of this entry »

By Sandra Emerson | semerson@scng.com | Inland Valley Daily Bulletin
Published: November 9, 2018 at 6:01 pm | Updated: November 9, 2018 at 6:01 pm

The San Bernardino County Board of Supervisors will meet Tuesday, Nov. 13 to discuss the process for filling the impending vacancy following James Ramos’ likely win in the 40th Assembly District.

Read the rest of this entry »

The Sun: Inland voters open door to — and agree to tax — marijuana industry

By David Downey | ddowney@scng.com | The Press-Enterprise
Published: November 7, 2018 at 6:05 pm | Updated: November 7, 2018 at 7:05 pm

Voters in several Inland communities appeared to say Tuesday, Nov. 6, that they are ready to welcome the marijuana industry — and especially to tax it — with the notable exception of Hemet.

Read the rest of this entry »

InlandPolitics: Democrats heading for bad Election Day result

Jim Erwin
Sunday, November 4, 2018 – 12:30 p.m.

Now that I finally have some time to do some writing on politics, let’s get to it!

I prefer to render political observations after taking in data from a broad spectrum of sources and feedback. Two years ago it had become pretty clear to me in the final four weeks leading up to the presidential Election that Donald Trump would prevail.

Read the rest of this entry »

Former San Bernardino County Assessor and former county supervisor Bill Postmus listens to his attorney Jeffrey Lawrence (not pictured) during a sentencing and motion hearing at the San Bernardino Justice Center in San Bernardino on Friday, November 2, 2018. (Photo by Will Lester, Inland Valley Daily Bulletin/SCNG)

By Joe Nelson | jnelson@scng.com | San Bernardino Sun
Published: November 2, 2018 at 7:27 pm | Updated: November 4, 2018 at 9:07 am

The battle by former San Bernardino County assessor Bill Postmus to rescind his guilty plea in the Colonies corruption case began Friday with Postmus testifying he was a drug addict when he was coerced into accepting a deal with prosecutors.

Read the rest of this entry »

Daily Bulletin: Election: It’s all GOP in CA 8. Here’s how that happened

Chris Mann, founder and manager of the Inland Empire Taxpayers Association’s super PAC.

By Jeff Horseman | jhorseman@scng.com | The Press-Enterprise
Published: November 1, 2018 at 2:51 pm | Updated: November 1, 2018 at 11:44 pm

For Chris Mann, the June primary results in California’s 8th Congressional District played out perfectly, when two GOP candidates, incumbent Paul Cook and challenger Tim Donnelly, finished first and second.

Read the rest of this entry »