10:00 PM PDT on Thursday, April 7, 2011

The Press-Enterprise

The Jurupa Valley City Council-elect Thursday night selected seven longtime community volunteers to work on planning the celebration that will usher in the new era of cityhood.

Linda Thompson, Diana Leja, David Zimmerman , John West Jr. and Irene Salazar were selected to serve with council members-elect Laura Roughton and Verne Lauritzen on the Incorporation Celebration Committee.

Kelly Dodd and Barbara Barbula were selected as alternates.

In announcing his recommendations for committee members, Lauritzen said the JurupaValley.org website had received “numerous emails and contacts.”

“If you’ve offered (to help), we’re going to take you up on it,” he said.

To complete the work in time for the looming July 1 incorporation date, Lauritzen warned that committee members must be willing to attend at least one meeting per week — perhaps more — at odd hours, including evenings and weekends, to fundraise and recruit volunteers.

Thompson will serve as the committee’s chairwoman.

Thompson has a long history of community volunteerism: She is retired from the Jurupa Area Recreation and Park District, helps organize the annual Jurupa Children’s Christmas Party and was involved with the Jurupa Rodeo before it stopped being held.

Voters on March 8 approved Measure A to make the Jurupa Valley Riverside County’s 28th city.

It includes the communities of Mira Loma, Glen Avon, Pedley, Indian Hills, Sunnyslope, Jurupa Hills, Rubidoux and Belltown.

To read entire story, click here.