Friday, March 2, 2018 – 07:25 p.m.

The defense attorneys who represented the fully vindicated defendants in the Colonies criminal case have each received one of the highest honors for attorneys in California, each being recognized as a California Lawyer Attorney of the Year (the “CLAY Award”) as nominated by their peers in the California legal community and selected by the editors of the Daily Journal and the California Lawyer, California’s leading legal periodicals.

Stephen Larson, Jonathon Phillips, Jennifer Keller, Raj Maline, Pete Scalisi, and Mark McDonald have all been named as recipients of this year’s CLAY Awards.  A reception in honor of the lawyers will be held at The City Club in San Francisco on March 20.

The Clay Award is also described in the following email:

From: Kibkabe Araya []
Sent: Friday, March 2, 2018 4:46 PM
Subject: Daily Journal CLAY Awards

“Congratulations on winning a CLAY award for People v. Biane et al. A special issue about your work will be published March 21. A reporter will call you soon for an interview. There is a reception in your honor on March 20 in San Francisco.

The Daily Journal’s California Lawyer Attorneys of the Year Awards honor California lawyers who have worked on an influential case in 2017. We receive many nominations for this award, and sometimes we select lawyers without nominations who had a significant case in the past year.

We cross-reference court documents to make sure we have the complete list of winning lawyers on a case. If you feel you should not be included in this year’s CLAY Awards, please let me know. The party invitation is below and attached to this message.

If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to contact me.”

Thank you,

Kibby Araya

Special Projects Editor
915 E. 1st Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012
P: 213.229.5365

The case and its lawyers fall into the category of White Collar Case of the Year.

Congratulations to Attorney’s Stephen Larson, Jonathan Phillips, Jennifer Keller, Rajan Maline, Peter Scalisi, Mark McDonald and the entire legal team, including Steve Haskins, James McGee, Kathryane Foster, Silvia Medina, Meghan Wagner and Raquel Aragon.