By Melody Gutierrez
Updated: March 10, 2016 – 3:57pm

SACRAMENTO — Dying Californians can ask their doctors for a lethal prescription to end their lives beginning June 9.

California’s law, which was signed by Gov. Jerry Brown last year, is modeled after Oregon’s Death With Dignity Act, which was enacted in 1997 to give terminal patients the option of dying earlier. Before being prescribed a lethal dose of drugs, two California physicians would have to agree that a mentally competent person has six months or less to live. The patient would then decide whether and when to take the prescription. Those who do so would have to ingest the drugs on their own, without assistance from another person.

California’s law requires a patient to affirm 48 hours in advance of taking the drugs that they are doing so of their own accord. The law expires in 10 years.

Efforts to legalize aid-in-dying were buoyed in 2014 when Brittany Maynard talked openly and publicly about her decision to move from her East Bay home in Alamo to Portland, Ore., to access a lethal prescription that she ultimately used.

Maynard, who was dying of brain cancer, used her final days to advocate for California to adopt a similar law so others would not have to move out of the state for similar relief.

“It’s crazy to me that other patients suffering with terminal illness don’t have the same choice and may not have the same flexibility to pick up and move with their family,” Maynard told The Chronicle before she died Nov. 1, 2014.

Her husband, Dan Diaz, took up her cause, repeatedly returning to the state Capitol to share Maynard’s story.

To read expanded article, click here.