Election Results

Wednesday, June 4, 2014 – 09:00 a.m.

Here’s a recap of the June 3 Primary Election results for contests of interest.

Record low, and we mean low, turnout was projected, and it happened!

But no one expected it to be this low.

With provisional, late absentee and damaged ballots still pending, Riverside County turnout is currently at 17.91%. In San Bernardino County it is far worse at 14.76%.


Governor Jerry Brown (D) will face Businessman Neel Kashkari (R). Kashkari easily defeated Tea Party favorite Tim Donnelly (R). Kashkari has no chance, unless Brown dies, or has a stroke. But maybe not even then.

Riverside County

Board of Supervisors

All three incumbent supervisors, Marion Ashley, John Tavaglione and John Benoit were handily re-elected. Well-funded Benoit challenger, V. Manuel Perez, was easily defeated.

District Attorney

One-term incumbent Paul Zellerbach is out, Senior Deputy District Attorney Mike Hestrin is in. Will Zellerbach see charges courtesy of Attorney General Kamala Harris?

We’ll cover this in a separate story.

State Senate

In 28th Senate District, County Supervisor Jeff Stone (R) will face either Bonnie Garcia(R) or Glenn Miller (R). The two are currently 77 votes apart.

U.S. House of Representatives

In CD-41, Incumbent Mark Takano (D), will face Riverside Councilman Steve Adams (R). This seat is still considered secure for Takano. That’s unless Democrats continue to meltdown nationwide.

In CD-35, Incumbent Raul Ruiz (D), will face Assemblyman Brian Nestande (R). Ruiz is highly vulnerable here, and could easily lose.

San Bernardino County

Board of Supervisors

Second District Supervisor Janice Rutherford easily defeated newcomer Randy Beasley.

In the Fourth District, U.S. Representative Gloria Negrete-McLeod will face Assemblyman Curt Hagman. Absent any screw-up over the next five months, union-backed and heavily-funded Negrete-McLeod will take the seat being vacated by Gary Ovitt.

Sheriff-Coroner-Public Administrator

Appointed Sheriff John McMahon will become elected-Sheriff John McMahon.

McMahon pulled more than sixty-percent against challengers Paul Schrader and Clifton Harris. Neither Schrader or Harris had any moeny to mount a serious challenge.

District Attorney

Three-term incumbent Michael Ramos handily-defeated challenger, Deputy District Attorney Grover Merritt. While Merritt lacked any serious financial backing, he did manage to make Ramos spend down his campaign slush fund.


Bob Dutton leads Assistant Assessor-Recorder Dan Harp by 336 votes.

Dutton heavily outspent Harp, who had a serious ballot title advantage.

State Assembly

In AD-33, Jay Obernolte (R) will face John Coffey (D) in November. Rick Roelle was a distant fourth place.

In AD-40, Marc Steinorth (R) will face Kathleen Henry (D).

In AD-42, Chad Mayes (R) will face Karalee Hargrove (D).

U.S. House of Representatives

In CD-31, the only interesting race of the evening, Paul Chabot (R-Rancho Cucamonga) will most likely face Mayor Pete Aguilar (D-Redlands). Aguilar currently leads Lesli Gooch (R-Rancho Cucamonga) by 390 votes.