10:00 PM PDT on Monday, March 15, 2010

The Press-Enterprise

Inland voters now know who their choices will be for the upcoming June 8 primary election after Friday’s filing deadline for candidates.

For Inland legislative seats, these candidates returned filing papers.

In the 62nd Assembly District incumbent Wilmer Amina Carter, of Rialto, will face Gil Navarro, of San Bernardino, in the Democratic primary. Republican Jean Ensley, of Rialto, also is in the race.

The 63rd Assembly District seat is open and has a crowded field. In the Republican primary, the candidates are Jacqueline Bolda, of Rancho Cucamonga; Paul Chabot, of Rancho Cucamonga; Pat Gilbreath, of Redlands; Don Kurth, of Rancho Cucamonga; Mike Morrell, of Rancho Cucamonga; Henry Nickel, of Redlands; and Acquanetta Warren, of Fontana.

Renea Wickman, of Redlands, is the only Democrat in the race.

In the 64th Assembly District, incumbent Brian Nestande, of Palm Desert, will face Jeffrey Lemasters Tahir, of Riverside, in the Republican primary. Democrat Jose Medina, of Riverside, also is running.

The 65th Assembly District has two candidates, incumbent Republican Paul Cook, of Yucca Valley, and Democrat Carl Wood, of Beaumont.

In the 66th Assembly District, there also are just two candidates. Incumbent Republican Kevin Jeffries, of Lake Elsinore, is seeking re-election. Democrat Douglas Dye, of Temecula, also is seeking the post.

In the 71st Assembly District, incumbent Republican Jeff Miller, of Corona, is the only Republican candidate. Gary Kephart, an Orange County Democrat, also is seeking the seat.

In the 32nd Senate District incumbent Democrat Gloria Negrete McLeod , of Chino, is seeking re-election. Republican Earl DeVries, of Ontario, also is running.

The 36th Senate District has four Republicans, one Democrat and one Libertarian on the ballot. The Republican candidates are Riverside County Supervisor Jeff Stone, of Temecula; Assemblyman Joel Anderson, of La Mesa; Kenneth Dickson, of Murrieta; Xanthi Gionis, of Temecula; and Greg Stephens, of Poway. The other candidates are Democrat Paul Clay, of Murrieta, and Libertarian Michael Metti, of El Cajon.

Riverside County

On the local level in Riverside County, three seats on the Board of Supervisors are up for election. Second District incumbent Supervisor John Tavaglione is seeking a fifth term. He faces Herb Higgins, a Norco resident and safety director and trainer.

Supervisor Marion Ashley, who represents the Fifth District, is running unopposed for a third term.

Supervisor John Benoit was appointed to the board last year to fill out the term of the late Supervisor Roy Wilson. Benoit faces former Palm Springs Police Chief Gary Jeandron.

Meanwhile, Sheriff Stan Sniff, appointed to the post in 2007, has a challenger in his efforts to win election for the first time. Former chief deputy sheriff Frank Robles, who retired in 2007, is running for sheriff.

Assessor Clerk-Recorder Larry Ward is running unopposed for a second full term. He was first appointed in 2005. Treasurer-Tax Collector Don Kent, appointed to the position in 2008, is seeking election for the first time. He also is running unopposed.

San Bernardino County

In San Bernardino County, both incumbent supervisors will face opponents with the Second District, spanning from Upland to Crestline, attracting the most challengers.

Supervisor Paul Biane, who is seeking his third term, will face five opponents. The challengers are Fontana Councilwoman Janice Rutherford, Chaffey Joint Union High School Trustee Arthur Bustamonte, Crestline newspaper publisher Dennis Labadie, Rim of the World school board member Peter Markovich and Greg Warner, a Rancho Cucamonga publishing company division manager.

To read entire story, click here.